MACON-PIATT REGIONAL OFFICE OF EDUCATION #39
Got a Job? Get a Work Permit! It's the Law.
To protect the safety of Illinois teenagers, and place a priority on their education, minors age 14 or 15 may work, but not without first obtaining an Employment Certificate from their local high school OR the nearest Regional Office of Education and the Illinois Department of Labor. If you are over 16 the State of Illinois does not require a Work Permit but your employer may still request one.
To Download Work Permit Documents: Click here
Please email your completed documents along with copies of your birth certificate and social security card to: firstname.lastname@example.org and your work permit will be processed shortly.
Required documentation due to ROE #39:
- Letter of intent: a statement of intention to employ signed by the prospective employer, stating nature of work and approximate hours and number of days minor shall be employed each week.
- Evidence of age: a birth certificate (original or certified), or a certificate of baptism.
- A statement of physical fitness signed by a physician certifying that the minor is for to perform the job in question (within the last year).
- Social Security Card.
- Child present with parent/guardian preferred but not required.
A 14 or 15 year old minor may NOT work:
- before 7 a.m.
- after 7 p.m. between Labor Day and June 1
- after 9 p.m. June 1 through Labor Day
- more than 8 hours on non-school days
- more than 3 hours on school days
- more than 24 hours on school weeks
- more than 28 hours during non-school weeks
- more than six days per week
- on premises where alcohol is served
More information can be found at: